Texas Jury Duty Laws: Pay, Employer Rules & Exemptions (2026)
Checked against statute / official court source
Short answer: At least $20 for the first day (or part of a day) and at least $58/day after (since Sept 1, 2023). Counties may pay more, and jurors may donate their pay. Must your employer pay you? No Updated
| Juror pay | At least $20 for the first day (or part of a day) and at least $58/day after (since Sept 1, 2023). Counties may pay more, and jurors may donate their pay. |
|---|---|
| Must employers pay you? | No |
| Job protection | Employers may not terminate permanent employees for jury service (Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 122.001). (unconfirmed) |
| Age exemption | 75+ may claim exemption (Gov't Code § 62.106). (unconfirmed) |
Note: HB 2014 (2023) raised the minimums (previously $6 and $40). The state reimburses counties $52/day for days after the first.
Law
- Tex. Gov't Code § 61.001
- Tex. Gov't Code § 61.0015
- Tex. Gov't Code § 62.106
Sources
- statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/pdf/GV.61.pdf
- capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/88R/analysis/html/HB02014H.htm
- texas.public.law/statutes/tex._gov't_code_section_61.001
Courthouse Phone & Parking Rules in Texas
- Harris County
- Dallas County
- Tarrant County
- Bexar County
- Travis County
- Collin County
- Denton County
- Fort Bend County
- Hidalgo County
- El Paso County
- Montgomery County
- Williamson County
- Cameron County
- Brazoria County
- Bell County
- Galveston County
- Nueces County
- Lubbock County
- Hays County
- Webb County
- McLennan County
- Smith County
- Ellis County
- Johnson County
- Comal County
- Guadalupe County
- Kaufman County
- Midland County
- Parker County
- Ector County
- Randall County
- Taylor County
- Gregg County
- Potter County
Compare all 34 Texas courthouses →
Before You Go
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does jury duty pay in Texas?
At least $20 for the first day (or part of a day) and at least $58/day after (since Sept 1, 2023). Counties may pay more, and jurors may donate their pay.
Does my employer have to pay me for jury duty in Texas?
No
Can I be fired for jury duty in Texas?
Employers may not terminate permanent employees for jury service (Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 122.001). (unconfirmed)
Is there an age limit for jury duty in Texas?
75+ may claim exemption (Gov't Code § 62.106). (unconfirmed)